Community Awards

Mission Fed has a long history of community involvement, giving time, treasure and talent to education and nonprofit organizations in the communities where our members live and work. Sometimes our community partners generously send their thanks in the form of awards, which we are honored to accept on behalf of our membership.

Here are some recent “Mission Fed Moments” in the community.

2016 San Diego Business Journal Most Admired CEO (Medium-sized Nonprofit)

photo of Debra Schwartz

Debra Schwartz was named one of San Diego’s most admired CEOs in 2016 for her effective leadership and the success of Mission Fed as a whole, as well as her dedication of time and talent to a variety of non-profit organizations focused on youth, financial literacy and the credit union movement. Mission Fed is a double bottom line organization—serving members and giving back to the local community. Mission Fed achieves this through strategic partnerships with local educational and other nonprofits, financial education for all ages and community events. One of the most recent community partnerships was Mission Fed’s donation of $1 Million in support of Junior Achievement of San Diego County’s Mission Fed JA Finance Park program, focusing on increasing the financial literacy of San Diego high school students.

Pictured is Debra Schwartz, President and CEO, Mission Federal Credit Union

2015 Better Business Bureau Torch Award

photo of people

The Better Business Bureau® of San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties honored Mission Fed with the 2015 BBB Torch Award for Marketplace Ethics, in the category of businesses with 250-499 employees. The award recognizes Mission Fed for its strong commitment to integrity, customer service and community involvement. This award reinforces Mission Fed’s reputation as an organization that is committed to serving our membership and giving back to the local community using ethical business practices. As a member-owned financial institution, we conduct our business with integrity because it’s essential to who we are, what we do and how we do it.

Pictured (L-R) are Mission Federal Credit Union employees: Neville Billimoria, SVP of Marketing and Membership; Ron Araujo, CFO; Angie Lasagna, VP Community Relations; Alex Guajardo, Community Relations Officer; Debra Schwartz, President and CEO; Gary Devan, CIO; Terri Miracle, VP Creative and Communications; and Sreeni Rao, 1st VP Branch Network.

2015 Women Who Impact San Diego

photo of Debra Schwartz

In 2015, Debra Schwartz was named by the SD Metro magazine as one of the “Women Who Impact San Diego.” Under her leadership, Mission Fed had grown in membership, given back to the community and provided employees with an exceptional salary and benefits program. Throughout her career, Debra has dedicated her time and talent to a variety of nonprofit organizations, focused on youth, financial literacy and the credit union movement. She serves on the executive committee of the National Association of Federal Credit Unions and the governing board of Junior Achievement San Diego.

Pictured is Debra Schwartz, President and CEO, Mission Federal Credit Union.

2014 Artie Award

photo of Sandi Cottrell, Todd Gloria, Debra Schwartz and Neville Billimoria

In celebration of its 30th year, ArtWalk San Diego honored organizations and individuals who have supported it over the years with an Artie Award. Among them was Mission Fed, recognized for our commitment to the San Diego art community and sponsorship of Mission Federal ArtWalk since 2008.

Pictured (L-R) are: Sandi Cottrell, Managing Director, ArtWalk San Diego; Todd Gloria, Interim Mayor of San Diego; Debra Schwartz, President and CEO, Mission Federal Credit Union; and Neville Billimoria, SVP of Marketing and Membership, Mission Federal Credit Union

2013 Outstanding Philanthropic Corporation Award

photo of Tonya Torosian and Debra Schwartz

This award, presented by the Association of Fundraising Professionals, San Diego (AFPSD), recognized Mission Fed’s volunteer commitment, financial support, media awareness and board leadership. A group of Mission Fed’s longtime community partners joined to nominate us: Junior Achievement BizTown, Boys & Girls Club of Greater San Diego, San Diego Mighty 1090 AM, The Walrus 105.7 FM, ArtWalk and ArtReach.

Pictured (L-R) are: Tonya Torosian, Board Chair, San Diego Association of Fundraising Professionals; and Debra Schwartz, President and CEO, Mission Federal Credit Union